Our Mission

The Oregon Chapter of the Educational Theatre Association, home of the International Thespian Society, is a nonprofit organization committed to excellence in school theatre, made up of Oregon Thespians for students and Oregon Theatre Educators Association for teachers and partners.

We are a community of collaborative theatre students, teachers, and partners committed to the importance of educational theatre to lead, learn, and thrive through theatrical and leadership experiences. We invest in and advocate for theatre that creates an accepting and encouraging support system. We provide and support opportunities for student leadership, professional development, resource sharing, recognition, advocacy, community service, and participation in educational theatre events.


Our Vision

Making Theatre Arts Accessible

We believe theatre is the vehicle for social change. We strive to foster an environment where the art of theatre is cultivated in schools across Oregon. Through transparent practices and laser focus on Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Access (EDIA), Oregon Thespians will be a model organization that represents our state’s diverse student body to promote collaboration. We will create opportunities for all students and teachers of theatre to empower each other’s growth as artists, inspire student leadership, honor student voices, provide resources and support, offer recognition, and empower advocacy for theatre education through Oregon Thespian events at the school, district, community, and state level.


Our Values

People matter
Strive for excellence
Work together
Be the person you want to work with


Our Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, Acceptance, and Belonging Statement

Our EDIA Director Tori Scoles and EDIA committee members (lots of us Troupe Directors!) are working on this statement, as well as accompanying action plan. It will be published as soon as it is drafted.

"Respecting the Past. Being Future Focused." --Sharon Kneebone, CAE, Executive Director
National Society for Histotechnology