top of page

Oregon Theatre Educators Association

The Oregon Theatre Educators Association (OTEA) is Oregon’s professional organization for teachers of theatre or theatre-related disciplines at all levels, elementary through secondary, as well as post-secondary theatre education students. OTEA is the teacher-centered arm of the Oregon Chapter of EdTA, home of ITS. For more information about the Oregon Theatre Educators Association, please contact our Membership Director Kent Wilson at

While the OTEA works year-round to provide support and advocacy for theatre education, the organization’s focus is its annual Fall Conference, typically held on the second Friday and Saturday in October (designated by many districts as either an in-service or non-contract day).

OTEA is a program of the Oregon Chapter of the Educational Theatre Association. The Chapter’s student-centered program is Oregon Thespians, while OTEA is a teacher-centered program.

Membership in OTEA is automatic for all adult members of EdTA, whether or not the member is affiliated with a Thespian Troupe.  EdTA offers several types of memberships, from Pre-Professional access (for college students) to Emeritus Memberships (for retired educators).  Click here for complete information.

Note that, by chartering a Thespian Troupe, one adult membership is granted for the designated Troupe Director.  Individual Memberships are also available for educators who are affiliated with a Thespian Troupe, or who have no Troupe affiliation.

While members receive a discounted rate at OTEA events and activities, participation is open to all theatre educators in Oregon.

OTEA activities are planned and executed by the Oregon Thespians Board of Directors. This includes the annual one and a half day Conference of workshops and resource sharing. 

Registration for the Fall OTEA Conference is done online each Fall.


2023 OTEA Professional Development Conference

Friday-Saturday, October 13-14, 2023

Who: OTEA – all of us theatre educators from around Oregon


What: Annual conference including discussions, workshop sessions, and social/networking opportunities!


Where: Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites • 2525 Ashland St. • Ashland, Oregon 97520



(Optional informal social gathering: Thursday, October 12 at 6:00 P.M.)

Friday, October 13 from 9:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M. programming

optional informal/social evening time/Oregon Shakespeare Festival/Oregon Cabaret Theatre


Saturday, October 14 from 9:00-10:00 A.M. wrap up


Why: This is Oregon’s only statewide professional development focused solely on theatre education.


During our time together for Professional Development, we will do some resource sharing, curriculum enhancements, classroom strategies, conversation, and more EDIA work! This time is both rejuvenating, and worthy of our time and energy.


Registration Info:

$TBD for CURRENT OTEA members*

$TBD for non-Members*

$TBD First Timers* (new to Oregon Thespians/OTEA)

*Membership in OTEA is automatic with membership in the Educational Theatre Association (EdTA). There are several ways to become an EdTA Member, whether as Troupe Director of a Thespian Troupe, or without any affiliation or participation in Thespians. Visit for more information.



Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites website:

Reservation information TBA.

Programming is all day Friday and ends on Saturday morning.

Please note: Dog owners – TBA.

Remember, they are not permitted at the conference events unless they are a service animal.

Thanks for understanding!

OTEA Award Nominations

Oregon Theatre Educators Association facilitates several awards, to recognize significant contributions to theatre education in Oregon by both individuals and organizations.

These awards include:

Rae Mona Reynolds Humanitarian Award  – This award is named in honor of Rae Mona Reynolds, theatre instructor at David Douglas High School for over 30 years. Ms. Reynolds passed away in 1990. The award shall be presented to an individual or business who, through unselfish donation of time or monetary support, has furthered the activities of secondary school theatre in Oregon. Not necessarily a career achievement award, the Reynolds Award may be selected for a single unselfish donation of time or money rather than a work over a period of years.

Previous recipients include: Larry Daw, Phyllis Quanbeck, Oregon Shakespeare Company, Portland Repertory Theatre, Lisa and Bill Greenhoot, William Mastrosimone, Mike Fisher, Kirk Boyd, Bob Burgoyne, Arlo Gatchel, Mark Huisenga, Carolyn Hindman, Portland Center Stage, and The Young People’s Theatre Project.

Rex Rabold Memorial Award – This award is named in memory of Rex Rabold, graduate of South Salem High School and Oregon College of Education (now Western Oregon University), who distinguished himself as an actor and teacher, primarily at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival in Ashland. 

The award is presented to an individual who received a substantial portion of their education in Oregon and has achieved professional status in acting, writing, directing, or other aspects of theatre arts. The recipient of the award should have had a portion of their career in direct contact with students or teachers of secondary school theatre.

Previous recipients include: Susan Brown, Wayne Ballantyne, Michael Hibbard, Bruce McDonald, Janet Mouser, Tom Ulmer, Debbie Edwards, Carolyn Hindman, John Remington, Susan Seiber, Scott Walker, Carrie Jo Vincent, Mike Fisher, Ms. Zena and David Lund.

Michael Hibbard Memorial Award – This award is named in memory of Michael Hibbard, long time theatre teacher and director at Madison HS and member of OTEA. Michael created a unique sense of community through educational theatre in every organization in which he was a part. The award will be presented to an individual who or organization that builds and sustains a sense of community through educational theatre.


Below is the Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) Manual for Oregon Theatre Educators Association. This document can be printed and added to a hardcopy manual, if desired. Check the date of any hardcopies you have. Below is the most current version.

Also available is the HOW TO guide for Hosts, or those considering hosting.

bottom of page