top of page

Student Leadership

Oregon Thespians value student voice, and promote active leaders.

STATE THESPIAN OFFICERS and JUNIOR STATE THESPIAN OFFICERS serve as student representatives and leaders of events throughout the year. Our STO/JSTO are elected at each year’s State Festival.

More About Thespian Student Leadership

THESPIAN TROUPE OFFICERS (TTO) & JUNIOR THESPIAN TROUPE OFFICERS (JTTO) serve as student representatives at the school level. Significant leadership opportunities exist at the Troupe level for students to have a profound impact on the success of their school’s theatre program. Oregon Thespians recognizes the importance of these Troupe-level leaders by providing leadership training.

STATE THESPIAN OFFICERS (STO) & JUNIOR STATE THESPIAN OFFICERS (JSTO) are elected at each year’s State Festival to serve as student representatives, and provide leadership at all Thespian Events throughout the year.

INTERNATIONAL THESPIAN OFFICERS (ITO) are elected to represent their region at the International Thespian Festival each June.  For more information on the ITO selection process, click here.

OREGON THESPIANS is a Student-Centered organization, and is governed by a Board of Troupe Directors who work with the Chapter Director to organize and implement opportunities for students throughout the year.

This Board is joined by six STO who serve as student representatives, along with an STO Chair, when possible, who may be selected from the previous year’s STO.

State Thespian Officers must be inducted members of the International Thespian Society and are expected to attend up to five Board meetings a year, as well as the major Oregon Thespian events (Camp Thespis: A Leadership Summit, Instant Theatre, Regionals, and State, and attend the weeklong leadership workshop if attending ITF).

The initial STO application deadline is March 1.  See the application for additional subsequent deadlines in the candidacy process.

Below is the Student Leadership Standard Operating Procedures (SOP). This document can be printed and added to a hardcopy manual, if desired. Check the date of any hardcopies you have. Below is the most current version.

bottom of page